Queen’s University Belfast

Epithelial and Clinical Research

Queen’s University Belfast

 

Provides expertise on lung epithelium and clinical management of the BREATH project.

Current projects include:

  • Modulation of ENaC and mucociliary clearance in COPD
  • Protease and inflammatory biomarkers in COPD
  • Infection, innate defence and COPD
  • TRP channels, inflammation and chronic cough
  • A proteomic study to investigate the modulation of neural pathways in COPD
  • Mechanisms of infection-induced airway neural dysregulation in COPD

Professor Lorrain Martin

l.martin@qub.ac.uk

Professor Lorcan McGarvey (BREATH Clinical Lead)

l.mcgarvey@qub.ac.uk

Dr Fionnuala Luny

f.lundy@qub.ac.uk

Dr James Reihill

j.reihill@qub.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Douglas

l.douglas@qub.ac.uk

Dr Anna-Claire Devlin

ac.devlin@qub.ac.uk

Catherine Fulton

c.r.fulton@qub.ac.uk

Dr Irina Tikhonova (Affiliate)

i.tikhonova@qub.ac.uk

Dr Aurelie Mousnier (Affiliate)

a.mousnier@qub.ac.uk

Dr Alex Lennon (Affiliate)

a.lennon@qub.ac.uk

--------------------

PhD Students

Stephen Carson (PhD Student)

scarson09@qub.ac.uk

Niall Downey (PhD Student)

ndowney04@qub.ac.uk

Nichola Roe (PhD Student)

nroe01@qub.ac.uk

Emma Carroll (PhD Student)

ecarroll04@qub.ac.uk

Orla Dunne (PhD Student)

odunne02@qub.ac.uk

Gillian Kelly (PhD Student)

gkelly49@qub.ac.uk

15th November, 2018
DkIT-led COPD Research Project Received NI Healthcare Award 2018

DKIT | General News | QUB | Research | UWS


The BREATH (Border and Regions Airways Training Hub) project, which is a cross-border partnership between Dundalk Institute of Technology, Queen’s University Belfast and the University of the West of Scotland, has been shortlisted for a Northern Ireland Healthcare Award.

Read Article
21st November, 2017
DkIT researchers take centre stage at European Parliament to showcase cross-border investigations into COPD

General News | Outreach News | Research


01 December, 2017. Dundalk, Ireland.  Dr Keith Thornbury from the Smooth Muscle Research Centre in Dundalk Institute of Technology (DkIT), was invited to attend an exhibition and reception in the European Parliament, along with Professor Lorraine Martin from Queen’s University of Belfast (QUB) and Professor John Lockhart from the University of the West of Scotland […]

Read Article
23rd August, 2018
BREATH Ayrshire Stakeholder Event

General News | Outreach News | Research


Breath COPD Research hosted an event bringing together over 50 healthcare workers, scientists, businesses and policy makers to discuss Scotland’s progress towards the deadly lung disease, COPD.

Read Article
26th November, 2018
Impressive Impact of BREATH at Irish Thoracic Society Annual Scientific Meeting 2018(Belfast)

General News | Research


BREATH (Border and REgions Airways Training Hub) is a €7.75 M collaborative cross-border project focussed on increasing research capacity in the area of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and currently supports 16 4-year PhD students and 8 PDRAs across 3 institutions: Queen’s University Belfast; Dundalk Institute of Technology and the University of the West of […]

Read Article
19th June, 2019
Pharmaceutical Industry jumps into Action at Queen’s University Belfast

General News | Research


BREATH and the School of Pharmacy with TEVA UK hosted a one-day interactive training session entitled “Pharmaceutical Industry in Action”, focused on enhancing understanding of how the pharmaceutical industry operates.

Read Article
8th June, 2019
BREATH presents at American Cough Conference

General News | QUB | Research


BREATH staff and students have enjoy successful trip to the American Cough Conference, Washington DC.

Read Article
9th April, 2019
BREATH presents at Experimental Biology Meeting

General News | QUB | Research


BREATH team present ressearch at Experimental Biology Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Read Article
30th August, 2017
BREATH Dumfries & Galloway Stakeholder Event

General News | Outreach News | QUB | UWS


BREATH hosted an evening event to bring together over 30 healthcare workers, scientists, businesses and policy makers to discuss South West Scotland’s progress towards the deadly lung disease, COPD.

Read Article
12th September, 2017
BREATH partners together at first international conference

DKIT | General News | QUB | Research | UWS


BREATH PIs attended their first international conference as a team – European Respiratory Society meeting, Milan, Italy.

Read Article
  • Prof Lorraine Martin
  • Queen's University Belfast
  • 8 University Square
  • Belfast
  • BT7 1NN