University of the West of Scotland

Inflammation

University of the West of Scotland

Provides expertise on inflammation to the BREATH Project

Current projects include:

  • Pulmonary ageing in COPD
  • Elucidating the role of PAR2 in bronchial smooth muscle in COPD
  • Serine proteinases modulating PAR2 and ion channels in COPD
  • Air pollution as a contributory factor for COPD prevalence in SW Scotland
  • Elucidating novel PAR2 roles in COPD
  • Genetics of COPD
  • Defining and modelling the microbiome in COPD

BREATH from a PhD Student Perspective

 

Partner Training Documents (click on links)

Dr Gary Litherland

gary.litherland@uws.ac.uk

Dr Anne Crilly

anne.crilly@uws.ac.uk

Prof Carl Goodyear (University of Glasgow)

carl.goodyear@glasgow.ac.uk

Prof John Lockhart

john.lockhart@uws.ac.uk

Dr Joanna Brzeszczynska

joanna.brzeszczynska@uws.ac.uk

Lynette Dunning

lynette.dunning@uws.ac.uk

Dr Andrew MacKenzie (Affiliate)

andrew.mackenzie@uws.ac.uk

Dr Iain McLellan (Affiliate)

iain.mclellan@uws.ac.uk

Dr Andisheh Bakhshi (Affiliate)

andisheh.bakhshi@uws.ac.uk

Dr William Mackay (Affiliate)

w.mackay@uws.ac.uk

Dr Robin Freeburn (Affiliate)

robin.freeburn@uws.ac.uk

Prof Craig Williams (Affiliate)

craig.williams@uws.ac.uk

Ida Cleland (Project Administrator)

ida.cleland@uws.ac.uk

Kenny Richardson (Affiliate)

kenny.richardson@uws.ac.uk

Dr David Anderson (Clinical Affiliate)

david.anderson@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Dr Hannah Bayes (Clinical Affiliate)

hannah.bayes@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Dr Chris Carlin (Clinical Affiliate)

christopher.carlin@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Dr Elaine Emmerson (Affiliate)

elaine.emmerson@ed.ac.uk

Phyllis Murphy (Clinical Affiliate)

phyllis.murphie@nhs.net

Dr Anur Guhan (Clinical Affiliate)

anurguhan@nhs.net

Danielle Gilmour (Clinical Affiliate)

danielle.gilmour@aapct.scot.nhs.uk

Prof Gordon Ramage (Affiliate)

gordon.ramage@glasgow.ac.uk

----------------------------

PhD Students

Mariarca Bailo (PhD Student)

mariarca.bailo@uws.ac.uk

Kimberly Black (PhD Student)

kimberly.black@uws.ac.uk

Kirsty McCallum (PhD Student)

kirsty.mccallum@uws.ac.uk

Carly Woods (PhD Student)

carly.woods@uws.ac.uk

Mark Thomas (PhD Student)

mark.thomas@uws.ac.uk

Fawziye Tarhini (PhD Student)

fawziye.tarhini@uws.ac.uk

Bryn Short (PhD Student)

bryn.short@uws.ac.uk

23rd August, 2018
BREATH Ayrshire Stakeholder Event

General News | Outreach News | Research


Breath COPD Research hosted an event bringing together over 50 healthcare workers, scientists, businesses and policy makers to discuss Scotland’s progress towards the deadly lung disease, COPD.

Read Article
7th March, 2018
BREATH presents to Royal College of Physicians Edinburgh

Research


Dr Iain McLellan presents BREATH to Royal College of Physicians Edinburgh.

Read Article
21st November, 2017
DkIT researchers take centre stage at European Parliament to showcase cross-border investigations into COPD

General News | Outreach News | Research


01 December, 2017. Dundalk, Ireland.  Dr Keith Thornbury from the Smooth Muscle Research Centre in Dundalk Institute of Technology (DkIT), was invited to attend an exhibition and reception in the European Parliament, along with Professor Lorraine Martin from Queen’s University of Belfast (QUB) and Professor John Lockhart from the University of the West of Scotland […]

Read Article
15th November, 2018
DkIT-led COPD Research Project Received NI Healthcare Award 2018

DKIT | General News | QUB | Research | UWS


The BREATH (Border and Regions Airways Training Hub) project, which is a cross-border partnership between Dundalk Institute of Technology, Queen’s University Belfast and the University of the West of Scotland, has been shortlisted for a Northern Ireland Healthcare Award.

Read Article
26th November, 2018
Impressive Impact of BREATH at Irish Thoracic Society Annual Scientific Meeting 2018(Belfast)

General News | Research


BREATH (Border and REgions Airways Training Hub) is a €7.75 M collaborative cross-border project focussed on increasing research capacity in the area of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and currently supports 16 4-year PhD students and 8 PDRAs across 3 institutions: Queen’s University Belfast; Dundalk Institute of Technology and the University of the West of […]

Read Article
19th June, 2019
Pharmaceutical Industry jumps into Action at Queen’s University Belfast

General News | Research


BREATH and the School of Pharmacy with TEVA UK hosted a one-day interactive training session entitled “Pharmaceutical Industry in Action”, focused on enhancing understanding of how the pharmaceutical industry operates.

Read Article
30th August, 2017
BREATH Dumfries & Galloway Stakeholder Event

General News | Outreach News | QUB | UWS


BREATH hosted an evening event to bring together over 30 healthcare workers, scientists, businesses and policy makers to discuss South West Scotland’s progress towards the deadly lung disease, COPD.

Read Article
12th September, 2017
BREATH partners together at first international conference

DKIT | General News | QUB | Research | UWS


BREATH PIs attended their first international conference as a team – European Respiratory Society meeting, Milan, Italy.

Read Article
  • Professor John Lockhart
  • University of the West of Scotland
  • High Street
  • Paisley
  • PA2 2BE